000 02748cam a22004817i 4500
001 19080948
003 OSt
005 20170614192850.0
008 151228s2015 ii 000 f eng d
010 _a 2016317176
020 _a9789351776178 (hardback)
020 _a9351776174 (hardback)
020 _z9789351776185 (E-ISBN)
025 _aI-E-2016317176; 25
035 _a(OCoLC)ocn933505983
035 _a(OCoLC)933505983
040 _beng
_erda
_cDKAGE
_dCOO
_dDLC
041 1 _aeng
_hkan
042 _alccopycat
_alcode
050 0 0 _aMLCS 2016/50034 (P)
050 4 _aPL4659.S2518
_bG33 2015
082 0 4 _a891.814371 SHA
_223
_b009973
100 1 _aŚānabhāga, Vivēka,
_eauthor.
240 1 0 _aGhācar ghōcar.
_lEnglish
245 1 0 _aGhachar ghochar /
_cVivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur.
264 1 _aNoida, Uttar Pradesh, India :
_bHarper Perennial,
_c2015.
300 _a118 pages ;
_c21 cm
336 _atext
_btxt
_2rdacontent
337 _aunmediated
_bn
_2rdamedia
338 _avolume
_bnc
_2rdacarrier
500 _aNovel. Translated from the Kannada.
520 _aFor readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- ‡c Provided by publisher.
530 _aAlso issued online.
650 0 _aFamilies
_zIndia
_vFiction.
651 0 _aIndia
_xSocial conditions
_vFiction.
655 7 _aDomestic fiction.
655 7 _aPsychological fiction.
655 7 _aFiction.
700 1 _aPerur, Srinath,
_etranslator.
906 _a7
_bcbc
_ccopycat
_d4
_encip
_f20
_gy-gencatlg
942 _2ddc
_cBK
999 _c10729
_d10729