Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Ghachar ghochar / Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur.

By: Śānabhāga, Vivēka [author.].
Contributor(s): Perur, Srinath [translator.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India : Harper Perennial, 2015Description: 118 pages ; 21 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9789351776178 (hardback); 9351776174 (hardback).Uniform titles: Ghācar ghōcar. English Subject(s): Families -- India -- Fiction | India -- Social conditions -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. | Psychological fiction. | Fiction. DDC classification: 891.814371 SHA Also issued online.Summary: For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- ‡c Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Book Book Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bangalore
891.814371 SHA 008114 (Browse shelf) Available 008114
Book Book Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Chennai
891.814371 SHA 009973 (Browse shelf) In transit from Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Chennai to Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bangalore since 22/01/2019 009973

Novel. Translated from the Kannada.

For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- ‡c Provided by publisher.

Also issued online.

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.
Hit Counter
//]]>