Ghachar ghochar / (Record no. 10729)

000 -LEADER
fixed length control field 02748cam a22004817i 4500
001 - CONTROL NUMBER
control field 19080948
003 - CONTROL NUMBER IDENTIFIER
control field OSt
005 - DATE AND TIME OF LATEST TRANSACTION
control field 20170614192850.0
008 - FIXED-LENGTH DATA ELEMENTS--GENERAL INFORMATION
fixed length control field 151228s2015 ii 000 f eng d
010 ## - LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CONTROL NUMBER
LC control number 2016317176
020 ## - INTERNATIONAL STANDARD BOOK NUMBER
International Standard Book Number 9789351776178 (hardback)
020 ## - INTERNATIONAL STANDARD BOOK NUMBER
International Standard Book Number 9351776174 (hardback)
020 ## - INTERNATIONAL STANDARD BOOK NUMBER
Cancelled/invalid ISBN 9789351776185 (E-ISBN)
025 ## - OVERSEAS ACQUISITION NUMBER
Overseas acquisition number I-E-2016317176; 25
035 ## - SYSTEM CONTROL NUMBER
System control number (OCoLC)ocn933505983
035 ## - SYSTEM CONTROL NUMBER
System control number (OCoLC)933505983
040 ## - CATALOGING SOURCE
Language of cataloging eng
Description conventions rda
Transcribing agency DKAGE
Modifying agency COO
-- DLC
041 1# - LANGUAGE CODE
Language code of text/sound track or separate title eng
Language code of original and/or intermediate translations of text kan
042 ## - AUTHENTICATION CODE
Authentication code lccopycat
-- lcode
050 00 - LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CALL NUMBER
Classification number MLCS 2016/50034 (P)
050 #4 - LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CALL NUMBER
Classification number PL4659.S2518
Item number G33 2015
082 04 - DEWEY DECIMAL CLASSIFICATION NUMBER
Classification number 891.814371 SHA
Edition number 23
Item number 009973
100 1# - MAIN ENTRY--PERSONAL NAME
Personal name Śānabhāga, Vivēka,
Relator term author.
240 10 - UNIFORM TITLE
Uniform title Ghācar ghōcar.
Language of a work English
245 10 - TITLE STATEMENT
Title Ghachar ghochar /
Statement of responsibility, etc Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur.
264 #1 - PRODUCTION, PUBLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, MANUFACTURE, AND COPYRIGHT NOTICE
Place of production, publication, distribution, manufacture Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India :
Name of producer, publisher, distributor, manufacturer Harper Perennial,
Date of production, publication, distribution, manufacture, or copyright notice 2015.
300 ## - PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION
Extent 118 pages ;
Dimensions 21 cm
336 ## - Content type term (R)
Content type term (R) text
Content type code (R) txt
Source (NR) rdacontent
337 ## - Media Type (R)
Media type term (R) unmediated
Media type code (R) n
Source (NR) rdamedia
338 ## - Carrier Type (R)
Carrier type term (R) volume
Carrier type code (R) nc
Source (NR) rdacarrier
500 ## - GENERAL NOTE
General note Novel. Translated from the Kannada.
520 ## - SUMMARY, ETC.
Summary, etc For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- ‡c Provided by publisher.
530 ## - ADDITIONAL PHYSICAL FORM AVAILABLE NOTE
Additional physical form available note Also issued online.
650 #0 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--TOPICAL TERM
Topical term or geographic name as entry element Families
Geographic subdivision India
Form subdivision Fiction.
651 #0 - SUBJECT ADDED ENTRY--GEOGRAPHIC NAME
Geographic name India
General subdivision Social conditions
Form subdivision Fiction.
655 #7 - INDEX TERM--GENRE/FORM
Genre/form data or focus term Domestic fiction.
655 #7 - INDEX TERM--GENRE/FORM
Genre/form data or focus term Psychological fiction.
655 #7 - INDEX TERM--GENRE/FORM
Genre/form data or focus term Fiction.
700 1# - ADDED ENTRY--PERSONAL NAME
Personal name Perur, Srinath,
Relator term translator.
906 ## - LOCAL DATA ELEMENT F, LDF (RLIN)
a 7
b cbc
c copycat
d 4
e ncip
f 20
g y-gencatlg
942 ## - ADDED ENTRY ELEMENTS (KOHA)
Source of classification or shelving scheme
Koha item type Book
Holdings
Withdrawn status Lost status Source of classification or shelving scheme Damaged status Not for loan Permanent Location Current Location Date acquired Total Checkouts Total Renewals Full call number Barcode Date last seen Date checked out Price effective from Koha item type Source of acquisition
          Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bangalore Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bangalore 2017-06-16 9 5 891.814371 SHA 008114 008114 2020-02-04 2020-02-04 2017-06-16 Book Atta Galatta, Bangalore/598/21/2/2016
          Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Bangalore Indian Institute for Human Settlements, Chennai 2017-06-14 4 5 891.814371 SHA 009973 009973 2019-01-22 2018-11-15 2017-06-14 Book  
Hit Counter
//]]>