Śānabhāga, Vivēka,

Ghachar ghochar / Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur. - 118 pages ; 21 cm

Novel. Translated from the Kannada.

For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"-- ‡c Provided by publisher.



9789351776178 (hardback) 9351776174 (hardback)

2016317176


Families --India --Fiction.


India --Social conditions--Fiction.


Domestic fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Fiction.

MLCS 2016/50034 (P) PL4659.S2518 / G33 2015

891.814371 SHA / 009973
Hit Counter
//]]>